Data & Memory Representation in Computer?

In this article will discuss about data & memory representation in computer. This will make sense for you how data forms e.g. text, image, audio, video store in computer and how we measure the amount of it. First we are going to describe the computer memory units in the following:

Bit is the standard unit of data information in computer. '0' or '1' digits are called Bit.

Always remember 8 bits form 1 byte of data. Usually a byte represents a character (alphabet, digit or symbol). A key pressed from the keyboard sends one byte of data to CPU. It is the standard unit of computer memory. Other memory units are Kilobyte (KB), Megabyte (MB), etc..


Following table is showing you a list of computer memory units:
Memory Unit Value
Bit 0, 1
Nibble 4 bits
Byte 8 bits (alphabet, digits, or symbols)
Kilobyte 1024 bytes
Megabyte 1024 Kilobytes
Gigabyte 1024 Megabytes
Terabyte 1024 Gigabytes


Binary Number System:

Computer use binary number (1,0) to do mathematical calculations, and computer also represent data in the form of 1,0. To understand the data processing in computer, we must have to understand the binary number system. Below we are giving you a short introduction to it:

Binary System based on 2 and have only two digits 1,0. It represents one bit in two states: 1,0.

0 = Off  &  1 = On


In our daily life, we use the decimal number system. However, computer uses the binary system for calculations. Following table is showing you an equivalent binary number for each decimal number:

Decimal Number Binary Number
0 0000
1 0001
2 0010
3 0011
4 0100
5 0101
6 0110
7 0111
8 1000
9 1001

IMPORTANT Thing to Know

Now you’re thinking we’ve shown decimal number equivalent to 4 digits binary number. Because Hexadecimal are base 16 numbers and again binary numbers are base 2 numbers. So the worth of binary number is 2 times and worth of hexadecimal number is 16 times.  To represent binary equal to hexadecimal we multiply 2 x 2 x 2 x 2 = 16 four times to get 16 the equivalent worth of hexadecimal number. Check out this  link to convert Hexadecimal to Binary and Decimal numbers automatically here.

What are ASCII Codes?

Mathematical digits are good for calculations. Nowadays, computers have very well control on alphabets, image, audio, and even a motion picture. For these types of data computer codes are recognized by the help of binary numbers.

These codes are used to handle alphabets, digits, symbols. These codes are known as American Standard Codes for Information Interchange (ASCII) consists of 128 codes (7-bit encoding system) that can represent, Alphabets, Punctuations, and Special symbols . Now ASCII codes contain 256 codes. We also called this Extended character or Extended ASCII set. These codes can represent any types of data and use 8-bit encoding system

As we know that one byte can represent  one character (an alphabet, digit or symbol). In the following, we are showing of 5 bytes of data with ASCII codes:



Note: Remember that a space key has a code value and also recognized as one byte of data. One most important thing that every alphabet has a unique code. For Small and Capital letters, there are different ASCII codes.

So, Now you have learned how data and memory represented in computer!!!…


If you really like to get this article in Urdu then click below to download:


Share This!

1 comment: